Skip to content

Theology Reading Group

August 26, 2010

Over at Theommentary Dr. Guretzki has a good post about his Barth reading group entering it’s fifth year as well as reflections from his pastor on his reasons for being involved in a theological reading group. His pastor writes:

Personally, I value meaningful conversations on issues outside of personal worship style preferences and the other peripheral matters we have made primary in a rather consumeristic church culture.  Besides all of this, which sounds a bit elitist and slightly cranky, I enjoy these times because they serve as ‘gut check’ opportunities where I can measure my pastoral practice against my pastoral theology.  Both of these (i.e. theology and practice) can benefit from what I learn in a theology reading group. The discussions around the table have deepened my understanding and widened my appreciation of varying viewpoints.  I no longer have the excuse to dig my own ruts even deeper. As a result I find participation in a theology reading group an invigorating experience.

Obviously Cabe and I both value the kind of discussion he is talking about but I wonder if we lose out some having these kind of discussion primarily virtually. Often times I think it would be fun to start a local theological reading group but Lebanon isn’t really the hotbed of theological critical thinking that a town close to seminary or Christian college is. Have other people from more rural areas started groups before? If so how did you go about it?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 8:43 am

    Hello, Cabe and Shedden. Glad to know that our little Barth group here in Saskatchewan is at least a bit inspirational to others!

    As for the difference between virtual and “real” discussion: I would never say that online discussions aren’t worth it, lest I wouldn’t be involved in a bit of blogging myself. However, my experience has been that face-to-face dialogue still can’t quite be replicated online, even using something like Skype or audio connections. There is something about the smell of coffee, looking into each other’s faces, and laughing and debating together that technology, in my opinion, will simply never be able to reproduce.

    I would suggest that even if you start small with three or four people, it is worth finding the time to get together once a week (or even once a month) for a conversation. Once you start, you’ll wonder why you haven’t done it before!

    David Guretzki

  2. August 27, 2010 9:05 am

    Thanks, David.

    I’m glad Matt wrote something here about your theology reading groups post. You had me thinking yesterday about what it might look like to get something together (or find something that already exists) around the Houston/Galveston area. Blogging and emailing are helpful, but I could use some more face to face.

Leave a comment